Department of Ophthalmology

The University of Medicine,Magway

Acadimic Staff



Departmental Structure

  1. Professor & Head         
  2. Professor ( post taken by one attached to UM1)

       4. Associate Professor                                             

        8. Lecturer (only one appointed here)

        12. Assistant Lecturer (only one appointed here)



Professor May Thet Hnin Aye

M.B.,B.S, DipMed Sc (Ophth), MMedSc (Ophth), MRCSEd,

 DrMedSc (Ophth), DipMedEdu               


Other Faculty members

Full time

Lecturer- Dr Mon Mon Yi                 

M.B.,B.S, MMedSc (Ophth),
MRCSEd (Ophth)     

Assistant lecturer- Dr Lei Lei Win
M.B.,B.S, MMedSc (Ophth), MRCSEd (Ophth)



Part Time

Associate Professor / Senior Consultant (Magway Regional Hospital)

Dr Tin Tin Hla              

M.B.,B.S, MMedSc (Ophth)


Associate Professor / Senior Consultant (Magway Teaching Hospital)

Dr Soe Naing

M.B.,B.S, DipMedSc (Ophth), MMedSc (Ophth)


Associate Professor Dr Chaw Wai Lwin (Jan 2019 – Jun 2019) UM1

M.B.,B.S, MMedSc(Ophth), MRCSEd (Ophth), DrMedSc (Ophth)



Associate Professor Dr Khin Oo May (Jul 2019- Dec 2019) UM1                   

M.B.,B.S, MMedSc (Ophth), MRCSEd (Ophth) , DrMedSc (Ophth)