Department of Physics

The University of Medicine, Magway

II.   History of  Department

In May 2001, The Department of Physics was run by Daw Tin Htwe Latt, Daw May Than Soe, Daw Zin Nu Nu, Daw Tin Tin Khaing, Daw Khin Thida and Daw Cho Cho San, demonstrators as pioneers under the supervision of Daw Hla Ngwe, Honourable Lecturer and Head and adviser. Laboratory equipments were provided by University of Medicine(1), Yangon and University of Medicine(2), Yangon.

Daw Tin Tin Hla, M.Sc, Assistant Lecturer, served as first time acting Head. Then, Daw Kyi Kyi Myint, U Kin Kyaw, Daw Mie Mie Cho and Daw May San Han were assigned as Heads of the department according to one-year rotation system till January 2007. From 2007, January to May, Daw Phyu Phyu Khaing, Assistant Lecturer, served as acting head. From May 2007 to 2009 October, the department was headed by U Khin Kyaw one more time.

In 2009 October to 2016 March, the department was headed by Daw Khin Swe Oo.

In 2016 March, the present Head, Daw Phyu Phyu Khaing was appointed as lecturer and Head of the department.