Physiology Department

The University of Medicine, Magway

Professor Dr. Sanda Kyaw

Head of Department

M.B.,B.S.,M.Med.Sc (Physiology), Ph.D, Dip.Med.Ed.

(From 19.4.2019 to up till now)







History of Department       

          Physiology Department in the University of Medicine, Magway was established in March, 2002. First and foremost head of the department was Professor KhinMyo Chit. She ran the department with 2 permanent staffs and 2 three-year bond demonstrators. She relinquished her duty after one year and Professor SweSwe Win took over in 2003. There were 4 permanent and 3 three-year bond staffs. After 10 months, she was transferred to University of Medicine, Mandalay and Professor Kyaw Min became professor and head. He had 3 permanent and 10 three-year bond staffs. Professor Kyaw Min was head of the department from 2004 to 2006. Professor Tin Tin Aye ran the department from 2006 to 2010; visiting lecturers and one-year rotating lecturers from Yangon and Mandalay Medical Universities had filled the gaps of the teaching staffs in Physiology Department, University of Medicine, Magway. Professor Tin Tin Aye retired at 8.5.2010 and Associate ProfessorMyaMyaThwin became head of the department. She was promoted as Professor at 28.7.2011. She ran the department with 1 Associate Professor,4 Lecturers, 4 Assistant Lecturers and 9 Demonstrators. After 3 years, she was transferred to University of Medicine (2), Yangon and Professor New Nwe Yee became head of the department at 1.7.2014.She ran the department from July 2014 to February 2016, with 1 Associate Professor,2 Lecturers and 8 Assistant Lecturers. She was transferred to University of Medicine, Mandalay on February 2016.  After that, Professor MyaThandaSein took the responsibility as the head of the department from February 2016 to April 2019. She ran the department for 3 years with 2 Associate Professors, 1 Lecturer, 8 Assistant Lecturers, and 2 Demonstrators. She was transferred to University of Medicine 2, Yangon in April 2019. Since April 2019, Professor Sanda Kyaw became Professor and Head of the department. Now, the strength of the department is 1 Professor & Head, 1 Associate Professor, 4 Lecturers, 4 Assistant Lecturers and 2 demonstrators.

          Regarding the post-graduate course, M.Med.Sc (Physiology) course was allowed to open in 2011-2012 academic year with five post graduate students. PhD (Physiology) course has been startedwith two doctorate students since 2015. Till now twoPh.D degree holders and 6M.Med.Sc degree holders were produced. For this academic year (2019-2020), department is responsible for teaching and training of 230 undergraduate students.

More text goes here.

Text 1