Department of Zoology

The University of Medicine, Magway

II.   History of Department

                            Department of Zoology came to exist as University of Medicine, Magway was established in 2001 with the faculty consist of one lecturer and head and ten demonstrators. Daw Le՝ Le՝ Aye, M.Sc (zoology) served as Head of the department from 2001 to 2003. In March 2003, department of zoology  was run by Daw Than Than Lwin  (Lecturer and Head ) supported by one lecturer and ten demonstrators . In February 2004, Daw Thin Thin Aye was assigned as head of the department according to one-year rotation system. Since January 2005, department of zoology was run by the permanent Lecturer and Head, Daw San San Myint with three lecturers, four assistant lecturers and eight demonstrators. In 2017, total teaching staff is sixteen; one Lecturer and Head, three Lecturers, four assistant lecturers and eight demonstrators.